From Data Analyst to Data Scientist: Charting My Future in Data Science as I Approach Graduation

Renee LIN
2 min read6 days ago

I have written several posts about becoming a data analyst, as I am one myself. This experience has given me the confidence to share my insights publicly. However, I’ve never tackled the topic of being a data scientist because I am a cautious and less confident person. Yet, as I near graduation, I have set becoming a data scientist as my goal. (Funny story: I have obtained an Azure Data Scientist Associate certificate without preparation…Certificates mean nothing) The reason is simple: data scientists typically earn more than data analysts. That said, I don’t believe that data analysts are any less important than data scientists. Both professions aim to make a living by providing labour to capitalists, striving to extract useful and actionable insights from data.

But why do data scientists earn more than data analysts? This is largely because the demand for data scientists exceeds the supply, as the skills required are more complex and challenging to master, which makes these positions harder to fill. Over the next three months, as I work on my thesis, I plan to deepen my understanding of key areas that intersect with data science:

  • Statistics
  • Machine Learning
  • Deep Learning

--

--

Renee LIN

Passionate about web dev and data analysis. Huge FFXIV fan. Interested in healthcare data now.